top of page

Leeds in the FA Cup 

This page is dedicated to Leeds United's complete record in the FA Cup. The competition was founded in 1871 and Leeds first took part in the competition on September 11 1920 with a premilimary first round fixture which played out with a 5-2 victory over Boothtown at Elland Road with Eugene O'Doherty scoring Leeds' first FA Cup hat-trick on his debut.


The club's best performance in the competition came under Don Revie when the club won the FA Cup on May 6 1972 after beating Arsenal 1-0 in the final at Wembley courtesy of Allan Clarke's famous 53rd-minute winner. Leeds United have won the competition once and reached the final on four occasions (1965, 1970, 1972, 1973). Leeds remain one of 44 teams to have won the FA Cup in the history of the competition. Leeds have finished runners-up three times in the competition (1-2 v Liverpool 1965, 1-2 replay v Chelsea in 1970, 0-1 v Sunderland in 1973).

There have been 10 hat-tricks scored by 9 different Leeds players in the FA Cup. The nine players are Eugene O'Doherty, Walter Butler, Russell Wainscoat, Arthur Hydes, Peter Lorimer, Mick Jones, Allan Clarke (2), Phil Masinga and Jermaine Beckford. Allan Clarke remains the only Leeds player to have scored multiple FA Cup hat-tricks (2). 


Eugene O'Doherty became the first Leeds player to score a hat-trick in a FA Cup fixture in a 5-2 win against Boothtown at Elland Road in September 1920. Jermaine Beckford was the last Leeds player to score a hat-trick in the FA Cup in a 5-2 win over Northampton Town in November 2008. Four Leeds players have scored on their competitive debuts for Leeds in the League Cup: Eugene O'Doherty, Arthur Hydes, John Short and Mustapha Carayol.

Leeds' biggest win in the competition came against Crystal Palace when Dick Ray's side sealed a 8-1 victory at Elland Road on January 11 1930 which included a hat-trick for Russell Wainscoat. The club's heaviest defeat in the competition was a 2-7 loss against Middlesbrough at Ayresome Park on January 9 1946 under Billy Hampson.

Nine Leeds players have received 10 red cards in the FA Cup in the history of the competition: Gary Sprake, Neil Aspin, Scott Sellars, Nigel Martyn, Jonathan Woodgate, Alan Smith (2), Mark Viduka, Liam Cooper and Samuel Saiz. Alan Smith remains the only Leeds player in history to receive multiple red cards in the FA Cup competition.

There has only been one penalty shoot-out in FA Cup matches involving Leeds in the history of the competition which saw Leeds lose 2-4 to Wigan Athletic after a 3-3 draw at Elland Road on January 17 2006.

The Football Association decided on April 18th 2024 that all FA Cup replays were scrapped from the first round onwards from the start of the 2024/25 season.


You can search through any of Leeds' FA Cup fixtures using the 'FA Cup Record' tab.  

Purple Away_00000.png
green kalvin_00000.png
Home Kit 2020 21_00000.png




bottom of page